Books by Lindbergh Family

Charles Lindbergh, his wife, Anne, and their two daughters are all published authors, as was his father.

Charles Lindbergh

Lindbergh won the 1953 Pulitzer Prize for autobiography for The Spirit of St. Louis, the tale of his famous flight, incorporating flashbacks to his youth and early career in aviation.

  • We, 1927
  • The Culture of Organs
  • Of Flight and Life, 1948
  • The Spirit of St. Louis, 1953
  • The Wartime Journals of Charles A. Lindbergh, 1970
  • Boyhood on the Upper Mississippi, 1972; also published as Lindbergh Looks Back, 2001
  • Autobiography of Values, 1976

More about Charles Lindbergh's literary career

Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Following their survey flight to Asia in 1931, Anne wrote North to the Orient. The book went into its third printing within the first week it was published in 1935. Anne's diaries and letters recorded her life from 1922 to 1986.

  • Dearly Beloved, 1962
  • Earth Shine, 1966
  • Gift from the Sea, 1955
  • Listen! The Wind, 1938
  • North to the Orient, 1935
  • The Steep Ascent, 1944
  • The Unicorn and Other Poems, 1935–1955
  • The Wave of the Future: A Confession of Faith, 1940

Diaries and letters

  • Bring Me a Unicorn: Diaries and Letters of Anne Morrow Lindbergh, 1922–1928
  • Hour of Gold, Hour of Lead: Diaries and Letters Of Anne Morrow Lindbergh, 1929–1932
  • Locked Rooms and Open Doors: Diaries and Letters Of Anne Morrow Lindbergh, 1933–1935
  • The Flower and the Nettle: Diaries and Letters of Anne Morrow Lindbergh, 1936–1939
  • War Within and Without: Diaries and Letters of Anne Morrow Lindbergh, 1939–1944
  • Against Wind and Tide: Letters and Journals, 1947-1986

More about Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Anne Spencer Lindbergh

Anne Spencer Lindbergh, the first daughter of Charles and Anne Lindbergh, wrote several books, mostly for children. Among the most popular titles are The People in Pineapple Place and The Prisoner of Pineapple Place. Lindbergh wrote both of the books from her home in Washington, D.C. She died in 1993 at the age of 53.

  • Osprey Island, 1974
  • The Hunky Dory Dairy, 1986
  • The People in Pineapple Place, 1982
  • The Prisoner of Pineapple Place, 1988
  • The Shadow on the Dial, 1987
  • The Worry Week, 1985
  • Three Lives to Live, 1992
  • Travel Far, Pay No Fare, 1992
  • Bailey's Window, 1984
  • Nick of Time, 1994
  • Next Time, Take Care, 1987
  • Nobody's Orphan, 1983
  • Tidy Lady, 1989
  • Local Vertical: Poetry, 2000

Reeve Lindbergh

Reeve Lindbergh, the youngest child of Charles and Anne Lindbergh, wrote a number of children’s books. In addition, she published works for adults, including the memoir of her childhood and youth, Under a Wing. She has published two additional memoirs: No More Words, a description of the last years of her mother; and Forward From Here, a series of essays about "leaving middle age."

For adults

  • The View from the Kingdom: A New England Album (with Richard Brown)
  • Moving to the Country, 1983
  • The Names of the Mountains: A Novel, 1992
  • Under A Wing: A Memoir, 1998
  • No More Words: A Journal of my Mother, Anne Morrow Lindbergh, 2001
  • Forward From Here: Leaving Middle Age - and Other Unexpected Adventures, 2008
  • Two Lives, 2018

For children

  • The Midnight Farm, 1987
  • Benjamin’s Barn, 1990
  • The Day the Goose Got Loose, 1990
  • Johnny Appleseed, 1990
  • View from the Air: Charles Lindbergh’s Earth and Sky, 1992
  • Grandfather's Lovesong, 1993
  • What is the Sun?, 1994
  • If I’d Known Then What I Know Now, 1994
  • Nobody Owns the Sky, 1996
  • The Awful Aardvarks Go To School, 1997
  • North Country Spring, 1997
  • The Circle of Days, 1998
  • The Awful Aardvarks Shop for School, 2000
  • On Morning Wings, 2002
  • My Hippie Grandmother, 2003
  • Our Nest, 2004
  • The Visit, 2005
  • My Little Grandmother Often Forgets, 2007
  • Homer, the Library Cat, 2011

Congressman Charles (C.A.) Lindbergh

C.A. Lindbergh, father of the famed aviator, wrote about the political situation in the United States during the early 20th Century.

  • Banking and Currency and The Money Trust, 1913
  • The Economic Pinch, 1923
  • The Law of Rights: Realized and Unrealized, Individual and Public, 1905 (Quarterly Magazine)
  • Lindbergh’s National Farmer, March 1919-March 1920 (Monthly Journal)
  • This Pamphlet Tells Who and What Caused the Panic and Who Can Stop the Panic, 1924
  • Why is Your Country at War and What Happens to You After the War and Related Subjects, 1917

More about Charles (C.A.) Lindbergh