Approaching the fur post, a palisade made from large wooden stakes comes into view. The palisade measures 100 feet by 61 feet and has two bastions or defensive lookout towers in the north and south corners. Visitors enter through a large gate.
The fur post is recreated to appear as it did in the winter of 1804. It is a six-room wooden row house, 77-feet long by 18-feet wide. At the far end is the shop where visitors can browse through items such as axes, beads, iron tools, kettles and wool blankets as they imagine what it may have been like trading items with the clerk.
Next door is the warehouse, storage for all the trade goods and furs recieved in trade. It also served as a passage to Mr. Sayer's family quarters, so he did need to go outside when his Ojibwe customers arrived at the shop. The remaining areas contain the living quarters, and include two sleeping rooms with bunk beds and one living area with a table, benches and fireplace used for cooking. Two rooms have storage pits, or caches, hidden in the floor.
Nearly 1.5 miles of trails wind through the North West Company Fur Post site. Picnic tables are available. Learn more.
A geocache is hidden near the site. Come find it, then visit the site.
Explore our visitor amenities page for information on accessibility, parking and more.